Skip to content

Day 21: E go better…

November 7, 2013

betterE go better“, a phrase more common amongst Nigerians (I think. Don’t quote me!), meaning ‘it will be well’ or ‘it will get better’, has been my mantra since activation day.

As I was earnestly trying to make this initial programme bearable, I realised yesterday that something is not right…everything sounds too low. The more I focused on the sounds I was hearing, the more I found myself straining to make things out. Then it hit me – this sounded exactly as if I had turned the volume of the sound processor all the way down. This is something I would do whenever I had a headache or I just felt like some peace and quiet for a bit.
When I listened really hard, I could hear the driver announcing the stop on the train but it was as if the PA system was too low. I only heard the strong syllables and not the fairly quiet ones which still come through over the PA.

Another thing…I went through a full day at work and not once did I need to change the CI battery. How is that possible? I had the sound processor volume on the highest setting and a battery that normally only lasts me 1.5-2hrs lasted a full 7.5hrs and then some?? That was further evidence to me that something was not right.

I really feel the issue here is the programming or setting has been done wrong, something was added or included during the activation or whatever. Maybe the audiologist overlooked something; after all, it is a new system to them which they are still getting to grips with.

I’ve hastily sent off a somewhat desperate and pleading email to the hospital, asking to be seen again ASAP.

I feel a bit better – if the issue is something fixable, things will definitely be better. I don’t care how weird things may sound but as long as it doesn’t sound like someone has turned down the volume on the world stage, I can handle it by God’s grace. Me and my brain.

E go better!

Doose
Chronicles of a Bionic Woman

Give all your worries and cares to God, for He cares about what happens to you. – The Bible

From → Journeys

5 Comments
  1. It’s possible everything is fine, just that your nerves have settled to the mapping, and your brain has acclimated. Sounds like a new mapping and volume boost is needed. This will happen often over the next year until things settle. I still experience it after eighteen months.

    • Did u find u kept needing volume boost almost at every tuning?

      I left my last appointment a week ago feeling happy but over the past few days feels like sounds have gone quieter again & almost like I’ve lost some of the speech perception I noticed I benefited from the high pitched quality of sounds via the new CI… *sighs*

      • Actually yeah, I did. It’s different in the office, than outside etc.I suggest next mapping go outside, to another area to test it out before leaving. If you’re turning your volume up make note of.it

Leave a Reply

