Skip to content

Day 18: Follow-up…

November 4, 2013

Today marks 18-days since the surgery. Nothing special about that, it just felt like a good way of start the post!

I saw the surgeon who performed the operation today. Oddly enough, they don’t have the title ‘Dr.’ before their name. It’s Mr this, Mr that…but they are doctors…qualified and highly skilled surgeons…perhaps an internal policy to breed humility??

Anyway, he had a look at the site of the implant just to make sure everything is healing up nicely. And it is. The infection has cleared up and the only pain I experience is applying the slightest pressure to the area very close to the scar. I still can’t quite turn my head entirely to the right or left without some discomfort but it’s not so bad now. Otherwise, I’m as good as new! I finally feel like myself again – I even wore make-up!
That may not seem like a big deal but believe me, two weeks of pain, discomfort, sleeping only on my left side until it hurts, throbbing headaches, migraines, dizzy spells…it takes a toll on you. Did I tell you I wore perfume too? It’s been a good day!

I found out the model of my new implant is the very latest from Advanced Bionics. I was shown the model number but I didn’t write it down so I’m not sure if what I recall is right. I expect tomorrow will shed more light – its ‘Switch On’ day 1! Whoop! Whoop!

Even though tomorrow is not going to be my very first switch on ever (this is my second CI surgery), it feels like it is the first time. I guess because I don’t really know what to expect (though I have some expectations) but at the same time I’m hoping and praying for the best. I’m hoping that this upgrade will finally allow me to improve my hearing in a way I never felt inclined to do before due to the issues I was having with the previous implant and being told they’d tweaked it as far as it could go (which wasn’t very far!).

I will see if it is possible to share the actual switch on in a video here at a later date.

Stay tuned!

Doose
Chronicles of a Bionic Woman

“Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.
– Hebrews 11:1 NLT

From → Journeys

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

