Skip to content

Time…

November 1, 2013

image

Whilst I’ve been recuperating from CI surgery, I’ve had a lot of time on my hands. Annoyingly, most of the time I haven’t been able to do anything about the time on my hands as I’m pretty much forced to rest a lot. Too much physical movement causes my head to spin and pain beyond belief.

But the one thing I could still do was think. And I’ve been doing a lot of that. It’s led to moments of frustration, anger, sadness, despair, happiness, resignation…it’s been a bittersweet blessing to have had so much time to think.

The most reoccurring subject has been time…specifically God’s timing.

I am going through a challenging period in my life right now and I have no idea when my breakthrough will come. I have cried, screamed, yelled and felt totally hopeless. Yet I still have no idea when I’m going to breakthrough.

In all this waiting and not knowing, the story of the children of Israel through the wilderness has been a balm over my anguish (read from Exodus 13).
Exodus 13:17-18 shows that God led the Israelites the longer, harder way to the Promised Land because they were not yet ready to go in.

…God didn’t lead them by the road through the land of the Philistines, which was the shortest route, for God thought, “If the people encounter war, they’ll change their minds and go back to Egypt.”
So God led the people on the wilderness road, looping around to the Red Sea…(Exodus 13:17-18 MSG)

There had to be time for their training and they had to go through some very trying situations. Through it all, God never abandoned them. He took care of them and showed them what He wanted them to do.

The same is true in my life right now and maybe yours. I’m tired from walking and walking with no end in sight. But being the eternal optimist that I am, I’m still hopeful that I’m going to break through any moment now.

I’m not going to think about when that will happen but I choose to believe that it with happen. While I’m waiting, I’m trying to listen to what God is telling me to do and do it without questioning or trying to figure things out. No matter how long it takes, I know that it will happen in God’s time and when it does, it will be beautiful.

God may not always work in a way that seems best to us but His way is always perfect and He’s never late.
He is the one that brought me to this point in my life so I know He’s going to see me through it.

If God doesn’t lead you along the shortest path to your goal, don’t complain or resist. Follow Him willingly and trust Him to lead you safely around unseen obstacles. He can see the end of your journey from the beginning, and He knows the safest and best route.

Keep the faith.

Doose
Chronicles of a Bionic Woman

                             “Waiting – the most difficult job of hope”

From → Journeys

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

