Skip to content

Girl, interrupted…

September 22, 2011

The other day, I’d confidently walked up to a brother I had been admiring from afar earlier on and we started talking. Things were going really well and we may well have stood there talking for an inordinate length of time but I will never know because in the middle of the conversation, my cochlear implant battery goes flat.

*cue primal scream*

“Nooooooo!!! Not now! Not now!!! Oh God, no!!! Arrrrghhhhh!!!”

….but outside I was the picture of calm. The sudden plunge into silence meant I was thrown off the conversation completely…I was mentally disoriented and instantly I couldn’t remember what we’d been talking about…I can’t lip-read very well without sound. I rely on my hearing through the cochlear implant to help me lip-read at least 90% of what is said to me. Because I rely so much on sound, I don’t cope very well without it at all.

Anyway, here I am standing in front of this fine brother and I need to change my cochlear implant battery but unfortunately I don’t have my handbag with me and the last thing I want to do is to excuse myself, thereby interrupting the conversation and not knowing whether we’ll be able to resume again. You would expect that I would just be upfront and excuse myself anyway rather than stand there just nodding my head like a plastic dog in the rear window of a car… sadly I didn’t excuse myself. I stood right there and tried to carry on with the conversation as if nothing had happened, praying he won’t start talking about something completely out of the blue. It also meant that I now had to dominate the conversation so that I knew what we were talking about as context helps me lip-read a lot more. It got to the point where I just couldn’t pretend anymore and had to admit to him that my cochlear implant battery had gone flat, I was unable to lip-read him very well and I was unable to hear myself, as well as feeling very self-conscious of my voice now – I couldn’t tell if I was shouting or speaking normally.

*sigh* It’s very frustrating when that happens. Usually I manage to avoid this by carrying a spare battery with me but in this case I forgot and paid dearly for it, no matter how silly that sounds. I couldn’t stop thinking about that incident for the next few days and I cringe every time. It’s so embarrassing. I wish my cochlear implant was one in which the battery lasted a whole day without the need to change it.

Well, I have just about had it up to here with my tendency to embarrass myself. Next time this happens, I know what to do *blank stare*

So if you ever find yourself talking to me and I suddenly excuse myself, muttering something about “need to change my battery”, well, you will understand…my cochlear implant can be a very selfish gadget sometimes!

Still, I am thankful. Without it, I wouldn’t have had the confidence to even walk up to that brother and initiate a conversation. And it’s highly unlikely I will forget to carry a spare with me next time…much like that time I locked my car keys in the boot of my car…never again…once bitten twice shy and all that jazz…

Doose

Chronicles of a Bionic Woman

It is not the mountain we conquer but ourselves. ~Edmund Hillary

Image: Courtesy of Google Images

From → Social Butterfly

13 Comments
  1. haha, batteries will always die at the most inopportune times. welcome to bionic-hood

    • Tell me about it! Its maddening! do you have an implant as well? I have noticed how i have developed some kind of mental gauge that means i have an idea when my battery is going to die! sometimes i even change it before it dies because i have a strong ‘feeling’ it will die soon! weird!

      Thanks for reading! 😀

  2. Miofa permalink

    Oh wow sis. I just learnt something new! Sorry about the drama the phrase ‘“Nooooooo!!! Not now! Not now!!! Oh God, no!!! Arrrrghhhhh!!!”’ sums it all up. Thanks for sharing. x

  3. LOL….. this made me chuckle..I can only imagine how embarrassing, irritating and difficult this must be at times! I for one am beginning to learn to stop chattering away when you say excuse me. I always realise too late that you need to change batteries *shakes head*

    Too funny! the “Nooooooo!!! Not now! Not now!!! Oh God, no!!! Arrrrghhhhh!!!” Cracked me up. I could envisage you face!

    • hehe! 😀
      I wish i had a remote control i could us for life situations! Batt goes flat, press ‘pause’, i change batt, then i ‘rewind’ and press ‘play’! 😀 Nothing missed!

      *sigh* if only…lol!

      PS – i LOVE dresses/skirts with pockets – why? cos i can carry a spare battery with me everywhere without dragging my handbag along! 🙂

  4. Gotta say, this isn’t news to me Doose, I’ve known about your need to change batteries for a while, even before you ever told me. I know a certain team leader who carries around two batteries for his mobile phone for a similar reason – to enable communication. Not exactly the same I know, but you get the gist of it.

    Wanna say though, that Edmund Hilary quote reminds me of something I’ve been telling myself – “Own your situation, or let it own you”. What you need to do to communicate, is what you need to do. I pray that the confidence that you need, to be able to hold your own and keep your peace and smile in such situations, will fill you, in Jesus Name.

  5. I was very impressed, this is a very interesting post,, thank you for sharing

  6. Nice Blog with Excellent information

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Introducing…Naída CI Q70 | Chronicles of a Bionic Woman
  2. Introducing…Naída CI Q70 - DeaFeed

Leave a Reply

