Skip to content

More than a Survivor

September 15, 2011

I am sat here with my laptop glaring at me, wondering what I’m going to type into it this time. I am prayerfully thinking, trying to tune my mind into “Holy Spirit channel”, listening intently for any promptings…so far all that keeps coming to mind is the article I was featured in the Daily Mail on Sunday, a national tabloid. I know I am meant to write something about this; what that is, I don’t know yet. I will just keep typing and see what comes out…

I wasn’t expecting much of a spread when I agreed to do the article. I was simply happy to help the charity in its campaign to raise awareness of the decline in lip-reading classes and to share some positive experiences from my 10-months’ worth of lip-reading classes. I thought the article would probably be something like a half-page and my picture would be a thumbnail. Ha…when the article came out, I was stunned. There was my picture blown up, practically filling up the page! Oh my days! And to top it all off, the article was a FULL page one! It was hard to ignore my face staring back at me but I was really pleased as well for the charity and the exposure this gives their campaign.

Thinking out loud: what did that article mean for me? I don’t think I fully understand its impact yet and probably won’t for some time. I’m thinking about it though, a lot, and praying for some insight too. I realise what I thought wasn’t going to be a big deal is actually now in fact a big deal.  God has a plan and it seems I am at the centre of it. For me, that thought is scary yet somewhat exciting because I know God’s plans are always the best.

I am staring at the article and I am thinking “Dear God, what does this mean? Please show me the opportunities this brings and what Your plan is”. You see, if you are a child of God, and you believe that God is all-knowing before and after the fact, then you will understand that nothing happens by chance and there is a reason for everything, and in fact an ultimately good reason (Romans 8:28).

So I am starting to think about all the times I have recited in Church the Dominion confession “I am a bridge-builder, way maker, light bearer, difference maker, glory carrier, answer bringer, problem solver and world changer”…! Gosh! This really puts those words into perspective, doesn’t it? It’s a scary thought…I haven’t fully grasped what this means but I know I am walking in a new season. To let the opportunities go to waste from henceforth would be a tragedy.

I don’t want to simply exist anymore, just coping with problems or the misery that an ineffective life brings, just getting by. Jesus said “I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly” (John 10:10). I am tired of struggling with fear, doubts, insecurities, and uncertainties. I want to live this life on purpose and for a purpose. I want a life that is exciting and productive, never passing through the same territory or coming back to the same frustrations, mistakes, or limitations. I want to break out of any self-defeating circle of repeated patterns and habits and be able to rise above my limitations and my circumstances. I want to be more than just a survivor!

I want to be an overcomer. I want to be a part of something that is bigger than I and that I could ever imagine. I want to be connected to everything that God is doing on earth in such a way that I am bearing fruit for His kingdom. I want to have a sense of purpose in my life, to abound in God’s love and blessings. Quite simply, I want it all. All that God has for me; all that God wants me to achieve, to be and to do.

I want to be a woman of faith who hears the truth and acts on it in faith to fit it into her life. I want to find life exciting and dynamic even through the bad times. I want to rise above my limitations and stand strong in the face of all that opposes me. I don’t want a life of spiritual mediocrity. I want the power of the Holy Spirit working in me so that I can be liberated from everything that keeps me from moving into all that God has for me.

I want real transformation; I want to rise above my limitations and be God’s instrument to reach the world around me. That is what I want my life to be about. Joseph prospered everywhere he went and in everything he did because of his relationship with God, not because of his skill.

I want a lot of things now, and I have also come to realise that I will never be able to achieve that quality of life outside the power of God. And then only as I pray.

Let’s take time out to get to know our Creator. He is the Source and means of everything we could ever need in this life. When you make Him the centre of your world and your life, He will cause you to prosper in whatever you do, finding favour everywhere you go – He’s good like that! And because of you and your relationship with God, your family, your children, your neighbourhood, your community and your nation will be blessed!

Doose

Chronicles of a Bionic Woman

I don’t want to live an ineffective life. I want to live in the dynamic power of the Holy Spirit!

PS – You can read the full article in The Mail on Sunday online here – The Death of Lip-reading

If you would like to view the Dominion confession mentioned – “My Dominion Mandate Manifesto” (Copyright New Wine Church International)

From → Everyday Life

2 Comments
  1. OluwaDoose, I have just two words for you… “You are …”

    🙂 Give it time…

Leave a Reply

